Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Ep. 7~The best lines, IMO

Wow, this episode was seriously missing some funny lines. I guess this was a pretty serious episode, what with Santanna coming out and the elections for class president and all the other stuff. But here are a few funny quips that I was able to catch.

Figgins: I'm sorry, but since a student had let firecrackers stuffed down his pants 3 years ago, we've had a zero-tolerance physical-violence policy.
Santanna: Is that why you've suspended all the kids who've been tossing slushies in our faces for the last 2 years?
Figgins: Slushies are not on the school board's approved list of suspend-worthy weapons.

Rachel: Buying votes is illegal!
Figgins: But it's also delicious!

Sue: Why would someone assume I'm a friend of Ellen just because I'm mannish and highly aggressive and have short hair and I only wear track suits and I coach a girl's sport and I married myself? It just doesn't make sense!

Artie: Where's Rachel? She never misses applause.

Ep. 7~The songs

Kurt's voice is beautiful, and I love Blaine's rap. Their harmony together is also way awesome. I can definitely picture them singing this song to each other in the car, as they claimed they did. Awesome P!nk cover.

"I'm the Only One"
Okay, now this song made Puck sound sexy. It was pretty obvious that he was directing his affection at Shelby, and not Quinn or Santanna as he would have you think. But in comparison to "Hot for Teacher", this song was more subtle, and more pleasing to the ears, in my opinion.

"Girls Just Want to Have Fun"
I didn't realize this was what Finn was singing until further on in the song. It's such a slow, mellow cover. I like the regular fast-paced version much better. Not his best performance, I'd say, but he made Santanna cry, so it must've done something to some people.

Ah, I loved hearing Beiste's voice for the first time! She is a very good singer! So she was living out a tragic country song inside herself. Well, I really liked it and very much hope I get to hear more of Dot Marie Jones in the future.

"I Kissed a Girl"
A very interesting intro into this song... what a creepo! Trying to "straighten" Santanna out? Please. I'm thankful that all the other girls came in to back her up. Girl power! Also it's interesting that they sing a song that was from the pilot episode. Remember Tina's first audition? Haha, I noticed Kurt and Blaine taking videos of the performance with their phones. Cute!

"Constant Craving"
I'm not sure I really connected well with this song. For me, it was something forgettable that I could easily be doing something else and not pay attention to it. The song seems to be about Santanna still struggling with herself, Shelby missing Puck for some reason, and Kurt being sad about losing the election, but sending in his NYADA application anyway. (I really hope he can get in anyway!)

Ep. 7~I kissed a girl

After that cliff-hanger ending with Santanna slapping Finn, she almost gets suspended for her display of violence, but Finn decides to let it slide because he wants to help her accept herself. I thought it was nice that he made a reference to the It Gets Better videos, and sweet that he didn't want Santanna to kill herself.

Finally Santanna accepts herself for liking herself and seems a better person for it. She announces her parents took it well (excellent!) but her grandmother sadly... well, didn't. Her coming-out speech to her was really beautiful and strong, but her abuela just couldn't accept her. ~,~

I couldn't believe that Kurt could be down in the polls for class president. How can he be down in any poll? So unfair! ~,~ I'm glad that a lot of people in Glee club voted for him, but it's still sad. That Rachel was forced to stuff the ballot boxes with that many extra votes (how did she sneak them in for him?) for him is just ridiculous. It broke my heart to see Kurt so torn up, since he didn't win the lead for West Side Story or the election. (Yay for his dad getting elected for congress instead of Sue, though! At least one of the Hummels got to win something.)

Personally, I'm glad the little romance between student and teacher, Puck and Shelby, seems to be through. No doubt it will come back to haunt him, (WHY did he go and tell Quinn about it?) but at least I don't have to be disgusted anymore. I'm glad that Puck addressed first how selfish and nasty Quinn could be, but then how much of an emotional mess she was later. I like seeing that he has a conscience, and is at least sorry that he knocked her up.

Also there's the tiny side-plot about Coach Bieste and her crush Cooter the recruiter. It's sweet how she's head over heels for him, but all the sadder when she finds him and Sue Sylvester on a date! She shouldn't have been sending him mixed messages. I like how in the end she stands up and tells him how she really feels, and promises that she won't let Coot go without a fight. I want to see that happen.

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Ep. 6~The best lines, IMO

Sue Sylvester
Sue: Baboons are dangerous killers who throw their own feces when they're not tearing off people's faces or admiring their own weird butts.

Sue: I have a cause. Several actually. I hate the arts... and a bunch of other stuff. If you wanna win, find yourself a cause, my friend, and then start flinging poo. Winning is really about poo-flinging.
Kurt: I refuse to believe that. I agree that perhaps I need a better cause, but I'm going to win this thing without having to fling a single stinky nugget.

Sue: Burt Hummel claims he doesn't have a baboon heart. He also claims he isn't married to a donkey. Well which is it, Burt Hummel? Baboon heart or donkey bride? Donkeys have no place in politics. They bite off children's fingers and pee absolutely anywhere. Do we really need another Washington politician married to a pack animal? Don't let Burt Hummel make an ass out of you, Ohio.

Becky: Polls have you in at first place, coach. Almost everyone loves the new ad.
Sue: Almost everyone? Well, that ad was bullet-proof. I accused Burt Hummel of using his tire-shop to sexually assault automobiles. What's not to like about that?

Santanna Lopez
Santanna: Hey there, orca.
Finn: Hey, Santanna. You look like an ass-less J. Lo. (Santanna laughs)
Rory: You're skinny like all the crops failed on your family's farm.
Santanna: That is the lamest thing I didn't understand a word of.
Brittany: Not one word.

Santanna: You seriously think you can out-insult me? I'm from Lima Heights, I was raised on insults. It's how mi abuela put me to sleep at night, and she is not a nice lady. You know she tried to sell me once? And it wasn't 'til I got to Kindergarten that I learned my name wasn't Garbage-face.

Santanna: Oh, it's on, Pillsbury dough-turd.

Santanna: You're not fat. I should know, I slept with you. And yet at some point I must have liked that you looked like a taco addict who's had one too many back-alley liposuctions.
Rory: Whoa.
Santanna: Please stick a sock in it, or ship yourself back to Scotland. I'm trying to apologize to Lumps the Clown... I'm sorry that you sing like you're getting your prostate checked, and you dance like you've been asleep for years, and someone just woke you up. Have fun riding on Rachel's coat-tails for the rest of your life. Although, you know what, I would just watch out for her come holiday time if I were him, because if I were her, I'd stick a stent out of those boobs and let the Finn blubber light the hannukah lamp for 8 magical nights.

Britanny S. Pears
Brittany: Is this what having a stroke feels like? Because I like it.

Mercedes: I was up half the night thinking about our mashup for the mashoff, and it came to me. Adele.
Sugar: I sound just like her.
Brittany: Dude, I love her! She sounds like what banana cream pie sounds like when it sings.

Noah Puckerman
Puck: I made a list of reasons we should be together. Number 1: You're hot. Number 2: I'm hot.

Puck: It's happened. The Lion King, Puck-fasa has been caged.

Campaign speeches
Rick "the Stick" Nielsen: So. I was talking to my dad, who says that since he pays taxes and stuff, like, for teachers, which pretty much means that we're your boss. So I think it's time that the teachers started doing what we say. And how about you stop talking in class, Mrs. Jannisek? Everything you say is boring. Vote Rick the Stick!

Britanny: Tornadoes are nature's most destructive force. These violent storms have ravaged America, crippling communities all across our land. Isn't it time we take a stand? If you honor me with being your next class president, I will make tornadoes illegal at McKinley, keeping you and your families at our schools safe from their murderous rampages. Also, on Tuesdays, I pledge to go topless. (Large response from the audience.) Whoo!

Kurt: Although she knows it to be untrue, my opponent Brittany stated that my face was used as a template for Hasbro's successful line of My Little Ponies.

Shelby: Maybe competition will bring out the best in them.
Will: Or maybe it'll turn into World War Glee.

Finn: Have you ever heard of the term trash talk?
Rory: Is that when you discuss trash?

Ep. 6~The songs

"Hot for Teacher"
Okay, when I heard this song at first, I thought I wasn't going to like it, because it's loud, and it's about Puck expressing his feelings for his teacher, Shelby Corcoran. (Ew! >,<) But as the song progressed, I couldn't help getting into the groove. When the song moved into the choir room, that was when I enjoyed the song the most, since my two crushes, Blaine and Mike, were back-up dancers. I think the choreography really made the song good for me. ^_^ Also them saying, "Aw, I think the clock is slow, man!" "I don't feel tardy!" Then they fight with the microphone stands and Mike jumps and "stabs" Blaine. (It almost seems symbolic that Harry Shum Jr. has taken over the throne from Darren Criss as my top Glee hotty. O_o) Anyway, I'm glad that there was a song within the first 2 minutes of the episode, to kick it right off, despite it's original intent. Also Finn's drumming and Puck's singing, I'll admit, was pretty awesome.

"You and I" / "You and I"
This mashup was absolutely phenomenal! Will and Shelby did a fantastic job weaving these two songs (which coincidentally have the exact same title) and their voices together to produce something amazing. I was almost convinced that it was just one song, but I've heard Shelby's "You and I" on the radio, and they seemed to have subtly different styles, so it was just a masterfully done mashup. I just loved the harmony between them, how wonderful they sounded, and obviously the kids thought so too.

"Hit Me with Your Best Shot" / "One Way or Another"
This mashup was quite awesome, the perfect backdrop against the vicious dodge-ball game between New Directions and the Trouble Tones. I liked the flips, and the close-up of a ball bouncing off of people's faces, like Kurt. That looked like it really hurt him! (But I saw the behind the scenes video and know it was a fake, softer dodgeball, so he's just being over the top. Lol.)

"I Can't Go for That" / "You Make My Dreams"
One thing I like about this number is the costumes. The musicians have musical ties, half the guys are wearing pink shirts and blazers, and the other half of the guys, including Blaine, have 'fros and thick mustaches for some reason! So hilarious! The group number was just fantastic. I liked Finn's voice. I think I've hardly heard him this season, and he honestly sounded good. Everyone else did too, of course.

"Rumour Has It" / "Someone Like You"
My god, this mashup gives me chills. I don't know either song really well, but Mercedes and Santanna definitely rock the house with their voices. The backup singers and general choreography were really good. Santanna delivered lots of emotion, especially given that she'd just seen a campaign ad that called her a lesbian. Granted, it's true, but it still obviously hurt her.

Ep. 6~Mash Off

Looks like it's time for song mashups. I remember last season's mashup episode very well... After all, it led to Kurt meeting Blaine. ^_^ But this year, it wasn't boys against girls (what a relief!), because there's another Glee club in McKinley, the Trouble Tones. So they have a little friendly competition against each other. No one said it had to be a clean one, though...

Sue's political ads against Burt Hummel were absolutely hilarious. It's funny how there is also the political race at McKinley for senior class president being run at the same time... Could this be meant to reflect the real political race being run by the republicans for president-elect against Obama next year? I wonder...

I thought the class president debate was extremely funny. As you will see later, I put Rick the Stick and Brittany's entire speeches in my best lines post. ^_^ Kurt's speech was totally inspiring and clean. He is the only candidate totally worth voting for. It's a good thing Rachel bowed out of the race. There was no way she could compete with him. And it brought them back together as friends! Yay. ^_^ I'm glad about that, because all I know is that if I were best friends with Kurt, I would not want to be on the receiving side of his cold shoulder.

I wish I knew the reasoning behind Finn antagonizing Blaine. What gives? He offered a solo part to the new guy, Rory. But Blaine's cool, not affected by it...

Santanna's so mean to Finn for absolutely no reason, except perhaps he's the "leader" of New Directions... so instead of trash-talking, which she is too good at, they decide to have a dodge-ball game? Okay, whatever... I liked how Santanna was absolutely on a roll with the insults! Especially when she was "apologising" to him. She's almost like Sue Sylvester herself! Sometime I would like to see them come head to head and have them have a verbal fight to the death. But Finn certainly delivered the fatal blow by outing her.

Okay, I don't like the thought of Puck and Shelby together at all. It's just plain weird, to me personally. But I do have to admit: little baby Beth in his arms and him making baby talk at her is really cute! I'm glad he came clean and told the truth about his and Quinn's plans to steal Beth. I wonder how Quinn will pay him back later... The face-off between Quinn and Shelby was harsh. I hope she gives up on the stealing Beth plan, it's just totally stupid.

Finally, the cliff-hanger ending. My goodness, that campaign ad that was attacking Sue Sylvester was mean! She wouldn't have been phased by it, had it not been for the fact that it also attacked Santanna personally, and flat out called her a lesbian. It may be true, but to be outed publicly like that seems infinitely worse than a spat in the school hallway. She was in tears! It was the first time i truly felt sorry for Santanna. Then she had to go and perform that mashup with the Trouble Tones. What an emotional toll that must have taken on her performance. And that slap she gave Finn? Ouch!

Can hardly wait for next week's episode, to see how this story continues to unfold...

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Shum awesome videos!

Since I like Glee on Facebook, I get updates from them all the time. About new episodes, songs being released on iTunes, certain cast members' interviews and special news. After seeing the last episode of Glee, "Mash Off", I got an update that said Harry Shum Jr., who plays Mike Chang, had released his own personal website to the Internet, http://harryshumjr.com, and fans should go check it out.Before now, I really liked Harry, because of how well he plays Mike and how well he can dance, and how cute he looks. But after taking a peek at his website, I think I have become an all-out fangirl overnight!

I learned so many things about Harry that I didn't know before! For example, he was born in Costa Rica, he starred in the dancing silhouette iPod commercials (he actually met Steve Jobs, and wrote a great tribute post on his blog), and he was voted as one of People Magazine's sexiest men alive! Here is a video that will show you why.

I gotta say, I think I have a new glee crush to contend with Darren Criss's Blaine Anderson. *_* I never thought that would happen, but it did.

My all-time favorite part about Harry's website, though, are his videos, especially his short films. These are less than 3-minute long movies that demonstrate what an incredible talent for acting he has, as well as his hilarious sense of humor. One of my favorite one is the epic, the awesome, the nail-biting thriller, "3 minutes". Trust me. You will love this. He fights a guy with freaking light-sabers!My other favorite video of is his laugh out loud performance in "Buffet", where he plays a dude who has never been to a buffet before, and misconstrues the meaning of it entirely. =PThis is all to say that I now totally love Harry Shum Jr and his wonderful website. I just hope he adds more content on a regular basis, because I've already gone through all his existing blogposts, pics and videos. Lol.

Also, the reason for this post is that I didn't feel like writing the reviews for the episode "Mash Off" and it's songs. I figure since there will be a two-week wait for the next episode, I'll give you the scoop next week, when I'll be re-watching the episode really carefully anyway, to catch all the best quotes.

Thanks for reading!

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Ep. 5~The best lines, IMO

Kurt Hummel & Blaine Anderson (who completely owned this episode, dialogue-wise. ^_^)
Kurt: Do you think I'm boring?
Blaine: Are you crazy?! You're the single most interesting kid in all of Ohio.

Blaine: Tearing off all your clothes is sort of a tall order.
Kurt: Because of the layers?
Blaine: Because of the layers.

Kurt: Okay, number 5. Alright, this is really embarrassing, I wrote this before I met you. Have relations on a dewy meadow of lilac with Taylor Lautner before he gets fat.
Blaine: *Sharp inhale*
Kurt: Yeah, I know. It's stupid, it's stupid.
Blaine: Not it's not. It's hot.

Kurt: Chaz Donaldsworth? This doesn't even look like me.
Blaine: Don't worry, mine says I'm 38. It'll work.

Kurt: Look, there's Cher, and Tina Turner, and uh... is that Lucy or Reba?
Blaine: That is Ginger from Gilligan's Island.

Blaine: Are you going to cry every time we sing?
Beiste: I'm such a girl.
Emma: My only note is more teeth.

Karofsky: I'm what they call a bear cub.
Kurt: Because you look like Yogi?

Other funny lines
Artie: You see this face? This is what enlightenment looks like. It doesn't matter if he's in prison like Ghandi or trapped inside a woman's body like Chaz Bono, or stuck in a wheel chair like me... The key to being a director is having opinions. About everything. Even stuff you have no idea about.

Rachel: That was amazing. I've never had meat substitute before that tasted that much like real meat.
Finn: Of course, 'cause you're a vegan, which I remember, because we know each other. More sparkling cider?

Beiste: Man, I love to weld.

Cooter: Man... ever have something you really wanted to get out and just couldn't seem to do it?
Beiste: I had a chigger in my thigh once. The size of a tic-tac.

Santanna: Look, it was like being smothered by a sweaty, out-of-breath sack of potatoes that someone soaked in body-spray.
Britanny: I lost my virginity at cheer-leading camp. He just climbed into my tent. Alien invasion.

Ep. 5~The songs

Blaine and Rachel made this song absolutely beautiful. It was perfect. Perhaps a little too perfect? Who knows? Maybe Artie was right that they needed more emotion behind their singing. They kept looking at their scripts and the audience, not at each other. (Granted, that's because they're not in love and never will be, since they have boyfriends.) As wonderful as the song was and how well they performed it, there still needs to be that emotional element buried in there. But hey, it was still amazing!

"Uptown Girl"
Man, the Warblers sound awesome, even without Blaine Anderson! Of course, Blaine would have made this song all the more classy, but they still rocked the house! I wonder why they had a woman crossing the halls while they were singing. Isn't this supposed to be an all-boy's school? What is she? A teacher, a secretary of sorts? An excuse for the Warblers to sing to someone pretty? Also, I was confused for a while, because what the heck was Blaine doing there?! But then when he said he'd invite everyone to West Side Story, it totally made sense. Whatever, it was fun checking back at Dalton for a scene, and the Billy Joel cover was nailed. I liked the end, especially.

"A Boy Like That"
Santanna was born to sing this song! Of all the West Side Story songs Glee could have used, that one was absolutely perfect for her. Rachel had a great operatic voice too. The only thing that bugged me was that the conversation between Blaine and this Sebastian (hate him!) kept interrupting the song, and then the song would interrupt the conversation. I wish there was a way to separate out the song and the scene, so I could enjoy them individually, and not be distracted by one or the other. (How the heck did Sebastian wheedle another date out of Blaine?! I wanted to shout at him, You have a boyfriend!!!)

"I Have a Love"
Now this song also used a weaving of song and scene together, but I think this one was done the right way. Maybe because of how mellow the song was, and how special what Tina was talking about was. Both subject matters meshed well with each other, neither was distracting. Rachel demonstrated great mastery of the voice with this song. It was beautiful. The only question I had was, is this a rehearsal for the musical, or is it a flash-forward to the actual show? Because Rachel and Santanna show some good emotion for it just to be practice.

Okay, this was probably the best song in the whole episode. I love this in West Side Story, and the McKinley High kids just rocked it out! Santanna and Puck were absolutely perfectly cast in their roles, and sounded amazing. I love the lyrics, and how beautiful the Spanish accent sounds on top of everything. This song made me want to see the entirety of their West Side Story performance. Why couldn't they do the whole show?! =(

"One Hand, One Heart"
This duet with Blaine and Rachel was much better than their first. It was sweet and romantic, they sang with real emotion, looking into each other's eyes this time, and acted like they were really in love. I was once again disappointed that I couldn't see more of the show, because this was so amazing. Plus I have to mention that the scenes mixed into the song, of Finchel's and Klaine's first times, were really simple, beautiful, and well-done, and the song added to the experience. A part of me wished I could have seen more (*_*), but really, it was perfect.

Ep. 5~The First Time

Oh my goodness! This episode was simply amazing!!! I don't know how I could have ever doubted that glee wouldn't take this topic and make it awesome. "The First Time" has gone right into my top favorite episodes of the season, up there with "Asian F". I will explain to you now what exactly happened last night and why I fell in love with this episode.

First, I like that we got to get inside Artie's head a tiny bit, how he really takes his role as director of the school musical seriously. It wasnt much, but it was nice for his character to have a share of the spotlight. Also, without him, Rachel and Blaine wouldn't have started thinking about how they haven't yet experienced what it's like to... er, do it... And as the lead roles of Maria and Tony, it would be good to have some world experience to tap into with their acting. Lucky for them, they both have boyfriends with which they can potentially "do the deed": Finn and Kurt. (Guess which couple I was most interested in? ^_~)

Don't worry, I'll get into that later. Artie also plays match-maker with Coach Beiste (who, along with Emma, ran away from his sex talk :P), who has her eyes on Cooter the Football recruiter (I bet they gave him that name just because it was fun to say), but is too shy and insecure about her looks to act on her feelings. I liked how seeing the Beiste vulnerable like that reminded me that, under that tough, macho exterior, she is really a sensitive woman on the inside. Happily it turns out that Cooter likes her too and, with a little prodding from our handicapped cupid, gets the courage to flat out ask her out on a date. Yay!

I liked the Finchel interaction a ton better than I have in the past. They truly seemed like a couple in love, with no back-stabbing, hidden agendas, or big break-up arguments. Well, actually... Argh, just when it seemed as if they were about to get it on (safe and protected, no worries), Rachel HAD to open her big mouth and say one of her reasons for doing it now and not after winning an award was so she was better prepared for the musical. Total turn-off for Finn, naturally. Not to worry, though. In the end, Rachel sees the error of her ways and fixes things with her boyfriend.

I thought it was interesting that Rachel called a meeting of the old celibacy club to order (was it the celibacy club? It looked like they were using a similar empty classroom) to ask her girlfriends for advice. Quinn, talking from experience, said it would be good to wait before losing her virginity, to save herself regret. Santanna, from her own experience, said she should wait for someone better at it than Finn to come along. I liked Tina's advice best, though. She didn't tell Rachel what to do, but talked about how her first time with Mike was so beautiful and special, and that's how Rachel's first time should be.

Speaking of Mike, I liked that they continued a bit with his story arc and had his dad confront him, but was so sad that Mike was basically disowned by him. :( Yeah, it's great that his mom fully supports him, but hopefully Mr. Chang will eventually come around. (btw, I wonder when Tina will get a story arc of her own in this season. She's the sweetest, least dramatic girl in the whole show, and sadly under-used. I want to see her come out and shine!)

Okay, I saved the best sub-plot for last. ^_^ So what's the Klaine story? Well, Blaine swings by Dalton to check in on the Warblers and invite his friends to see McKinley's West Side Story. While there, he meets this new guy, named Sebastian, who seems even more smooth-talking than Blaine was when Kurt first met him. He agrees to meet Sebastian for coffee (noooooo!), and it is clear that Sebastian (gay, by the way) wants him. I never thought I'd get to see Blaine look so flustered around someone hitting on him. He's so freaking adorable. ^_^

On their next meeting, Blaine makes it clear to him that he has a boyfriend, though Sebastian doesn't seem too bothered by that fact. Until Kurt appears, by pure coincidence. I liked how protectively he held onto Blaine's arm, his body language plainly saying, "You can't have him. He's all mine, got that?" Then Sebastian invites them to kick it back at a gay bar, which Kurt... strangely agrees to? 0_o Blaine certainly didn't see that coming. Lol.

It was cool seeing the inside of a gay bar. Yeah, the dudes in drag were a little weird, but it looked like a fun, harmless place. The big surprise, though, was that Kurt actually met up with Dave Karofsky, his old bully, and they had a civil conversation. Kurt! And Karofsky! Together! He seemed much happier, much mellowed down, and has apparently found acceptance in his new school and in that gay bar. I'm glad about that. I never thought, when introduced to Dave in season 2, that I'd see him turn into a good character, but Glee demonstrates that no one, not even Sue, is made of pure evil.

Later, when they exit the bar totally drunk (well, Blaine much more than Kurt), Blaine comes on a little too strong and tries to make out with Kurt in the car, but Kurt doesn't want to do it if he's not going to remember it the next day. I was really shocked at how (understandably) mad he was at Blaine, and agreed that they should both be sober so the moment would be special, but was heartbroken when Blaine just left in a huff. !,! I really almost cried! Since he kissed Rachel, Blaine and Kurt have NEVER had a reason to fight. (Huh, that also came about because Blaine was drunk. You know what this means, don't you. Lay off the bottle, Warbler. :P)

But after the opening night of the musical, which seemed like a big success (but I sorely wish there could have been more West Side Story scenes! Santanna was awesome!!! Well, it was only the first night. Perhaps they'll show the other performances?), Blaine apologizes for his boorish behavior, and they're back together. Just like that. I don't know... It would have been interesting if they hadn't made up so quickly and had to wait until next episode, so the audience would get some tension. But like the kissing Rachel storyline, they didn't give viewers a chance to feel too sad for too long,...which I'm happy about, don't get me wrong! Still, it's not bad to keep people guessing...

Okay, for an episode about sex, I thought this was masterfully handled. The intimacy between both Finchel and Klaine was, I thought, very PG, but also really juicy at the same time. ^_^ Of course, you really don't see them do much besides lie in bed and stare lovingly into each other's eyes, but your imagination fills in the blanks. (That scene near the beginning, when Blaine was dancing for Kurt in his bedroom, was totally hot! If only Kurt didn't have on so many layers all the time! >_< And I love it whenever they kiss. Lol.)

Strangely, watching the whole episode made me feel as if it had come from the imagination of a glee fan-fic author, with all the awesome drama that came out of this. The writing was pure genius, I loved it, and... There's really nothing much else to say.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Ep. 4~The best lines, IMO

Brittany S. Pears
Rory: Top o' the mornin', Brittany.
Brittany: Okay, first of all, you look magical and amazing, but I don't understand what you're saying, so if you want to make it in this land, you have to speak English.

Brittany: Your magical race, they make my favorite cereal, Lucky Charms. I really wish that you would make me a box of Lucky Charms, with all marshmallows!
Rory: You're in luck. Lucky the Leprechaun happens to be my cousin, and he lives 3 toadstools down.

Brittany: Every night I feed Lord Tubbington nougat and sprinkles, and I rub his belly 7 times with glitter sticks, and so far nothing works.
Rory: You do that, because...
Brittany: I want Lord Tubbington to poop candy bars. *Rory gives her an amused look* What? Does everybody wish for that or something?

Santanna: Brit, I want to talk about, um, you know, that thing that we never talk about?
Brittany: What, that Sour Patch kids are just Gummi Bears that turned to drugs?
Santanna: Are we dating? Or what?
Brittany: Wait. Isn't this a date? Aren't you paying? 'Cause I ordered shrimp. Wasn't last week when we were taking a bath together? Wasn't that a date?

Brittany: Lord Tubbington's poops are crispy and delicious.

Finn: Is it true?
Brittany: No. Of course not.
Finn: You're not leaving New Directions?
Brittany: Oh, I thought you were talking about the Salena Gomez pregnancy rumors.

Sue Sylvester
Sue: I got a bee in my bonnet and that bee's name is government waste. Earlier today I saw a state employee in the person of one Vina the lunch-lady throw away 300 pounds of precious expired turkey gravy, simply because Uncle Sam said there were too many weevils in it. Well you know what has no expiration date, voters? My rage! I have in my hand the budget for the McKinly High production of West Side Story, a musical about a race war that glorifies gang violence. It still seems extraordinarily gay... If this nation wants to impress it's future Chinese overlords, we need to get our priorities straight.

Sue: The arts are going down. Today the musical, tomorrow the glee club. Next weekend PR and opera and brunch, and Tom Bergeron.

Sue: Well, if it isn't Porcelain's dad, who may or may not have a baboon heart.

Sue: You mess with me, I will Temple of Doom my fist through your chest and pull out your still pumping artificial heart, which I will then hook up to my car, power us down to the lumberjack convention for some deep discounts on the Mid-West's largest selection of ill-fitting flannels.
Burt: Bullies don't have a very good track record of messing with the Hummels.
Sue: I heard, and I am literally horny with fear. You know, you might want to sneak a handful of Will Schuester's pat-nip butter-flavored follicle cream. Put some on your melon. That way you don't have to wear those baseball caps that are fooling absolutely no one.

Make-up lady: Okay, all finished.
Sue: You are nowhere near finished. You made me look 26, I asked you to make me look 22.

Sue: Think that might be a better use of school funds than flying the glee club to New York without a set list, only to lose at Nationals with a song they made up the night before. *Moves gut-buster burger closer to Burt* Have a good aneurysm.
Finn: Anyone mind if I just dig in?

Santanna Lopez
Santanna: Do not even think about talking for the next 30 seconds, okay? Nod so I know you understand me. *Rory nods* Good. Here's the deal, pixie boy. You've got a crush on my girl Brittany. I understand. She's beautiful, she's innocent, she's every that's good in this miserable, stinking world, do you agree? Nod. *Rory nods* Good. Also she thinks you're a sprightly green mythological creature, but I know you're a potato eating poser. But since Brittany likes having a pet Irish, I'm not gonna exploit you. So here's how it's gonna go down. Leprechaun, starring a young Jen Anniston is my favorite movie. It learned me two things. One, leprechauns like fixing shoe-buckles because they're gay, and two, they grant wishes. So you're gonna grant me a wish.

Santanna: That's right, double-stuffed, fatty gassy McGravy pants... You are such a bacon-wrapped bug-eyed hypocrite. It's friggin' hilarious how jealous of Blaine you are. Every time he opens his dream-boat acapella mouth, you're just itching to kick him right in the Warblers.

Sugar: Awesome! More backup for me.
Santanna: Oh, okay, you know what? I did not just leave one diva-driven glee club to join another, so let me write you a reality check, Richy-bitch.

Finn Hudson
Finn: What happens when the Pope dies?
Kurt: Heaven, you think.

Rory: I love everything about America. Especially NASCAR, your half-black president, and Victoria's Secret catalogs.
Finn: Yeah, me too.

Rory: She thinks I'm a leprechaun.
Finn: Yeah, she's kind of like Rain Man with boobs.

Funny one-liners.
Puck: Global warming is awesome. All those melting ice-caps keep my pool cleaning business open from March through Thanksgiving. I do my part by revving my truck's engine every day, and never getting a smog check.

Kurt: Did you airbrush out your jowls?

Figgins: William, I am caught between a rock, and a different, yet equally hard rock

Crazy lady: You! My son can't read, and you want him to sing and dance?! *Throws brick at Figgins' car*

Director 3: I'm a big fan of the show, just because there are so many deaths in it.

Other funny lines
Tina: Mercedes was one of Glee's original members. I feel naked in here without her.
Puck: Yeah, well get used to it, 'cause without her singing for us we'll have to perform naked for the judges to vote for us at sectionals.

Burt: Figgins, allow me to introduce you to some friends of mine down at the Rotary club. These are the owners of Lima's 3 funeral parlors.
Funaral Director 1: Well, strictly speaking mine is a pet funeral parlor
Director 2: And mine is a crematorium, so we also bake and deliver delicious brick-oven pizza.

Ep. 4~The songs

"Bein' Green"
Easily my favorite song in this episode. It was the perfect way to introduce us to the cute new guy, Rory. By covering this classic by Kermit the Frog, Damian McGinty has already charmed his way into my heart, right next to Darren Criss and Harry Shum Jr. (Blaine and Mike). The song choice is great, because yeah, he's Irish and it's about being green, and it's certainly not easy for Rory to be green, seeing how miserable and invisible everyone makes him feel. But somehow, he still manages to put on a brave smile and not let it get him down, because that's who he is. I definitely look forward to Rory singing more in the future.

"Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)"
Okay, this may have been sung by Blaine, so you'd think that I'd love this song by default, but... I don't know. Not so much this time. I'm not a big fan of this song anyway, and there was really no logical excuse for them to cover it, except to have a silly group number where everyone has fun dancing and acting crazy. It did almost nothing to move the plot forward, besides to demonstrate that Santanna was the only one not willing to jump in, which was strange. I have to admit, though, they did a good, decent cover. And seeing those few funny moments, like Kurt shimmying and spinning with Blaine, Will tapping his knees to the rhythm with that goofy grin, and Rachel slapping Blaine's butt, to name a few, was hilarious!

"Waiting for a Girl Like You"
Puck did a good job calming down Beth's crying with this song. It's really weird though... As well as singing the baby a lullaby, it seemed as if he was also trying to serenade Shelby. =/ Didn't leave that big of an impression on me.

Wow, loved this song by the Trouble Tone Trio, Mercedes, Santanna and Brittany. The costumes are awesome, though it doesn't make sense why they were wearing them, besides for presentation, I guess... And their singing sure seemed to make Will and Finn look nervous. Too bad Sugar Motta was demoted to one of the background dancers... Hey, where did they get all those dancers? Were they part of the club too?

"Take Care of Yourself"
Ahh, another song from Rory, his official audition into New Directions. This guy has definitely got talent, as evidenced by Kurt's jealous expression at his falsetto. I thought it was cute the way Rachel nudged him, and he's rolling his eyes like, "yeah, yeah, so he can hit a few high notes. Big deal." It didn't compare to "Being Green", but I still really liked this song and think Damien's got high potential.

Coming up: Ep. 4~The best lines, IMO

Ep. 4~Pot O' Gold

After a 3 week break from new Glee, it's time to jump back in the saddle and take a look at what the heck's going on, because at first viewing, the story is slightly overwhelming.

First off, we are introduced to the new foreign exchange student from Ireland, the adorable Rory Flanagen. For most of the episode though, I didn't know his name was Rory because I hadn't caught it, so in my head I referred to him as Irish guy. Rory is a really sweet character. I love his smile. ^_^ It's extremely hard to be the new kid in town, though. He gets bullied and shoved at lockers even worse than Kurt used to, it seems! Just because he's different. High school is so cruel. ~,~ He has a friend in Brittany, at least, because he lives at her house as part of the exchange. Being Brittany, she thinks he's a leprechaun and asks for silly wishes. Not wanting to break her illusion, Rory decides to play along because... I don't know, he wants to hook up with her? Okay, whatever.

Also, Sue Sylvester is back and mean as ever. She gets Figgins to stop funding West Side Story, so New Directions has to raise the money on their own. (Man, they have to do that a lot, don't they?) They decide to sell ad-space in the musical programs, and in an unexpected turn of events, when Kurt asks his dad to contribute, Burt Hummel goes the whole hog by generously funding the entire musical along with 3 funeral parlors. (Wha?! Okay, whatever.) And later on he steps on Sue's toes quite a bit more by campaigning as a write-in candidate for Congress, so that Sue won't be able to wreak havoc on Washington. Wow, things are so simple and easy on Glee, aren't they?

It's really sad that Mercedes is no longer part of New Directions. She transformed into a character I no longer like (though I still love her singing). She tries to recruit more people into the alternate glee club that she has joined (such a weird idea, 2 glee clubs in a school who doesn't even like glee), which makes New Directions slightly nervous. Santanna considers joining Mercedes, but only if she can convince Brittany to join with her. Brittany is more loyal to New Directions, though... I'm not sure why it was important, but when she learns about Rory and his feelings for Brittany, Santanna gets fiercely jealous and territorial. She can be very scary when she wants to be. 0,o

Finn finally gets a little character development when he starts acting like the leader again, trying to keep everybody's heads in the game. I like that he stood up for Rory when it seemed no one else in the school would. I didn't like how snappy he was to Blaine, though. >,< Also calling Brittany stupid and dashing her beliefs in Santa Clause and leprechauns in one fell swoop. Nice going, Finn. He still seems largely clueless about his future, so I liked it when the Hummel/Hudson family gathered together to talk about the future, especially since there's a chance Burt could be a congressman if people vote for him. That would mean they would move to Washington. Kurt will (hopefully!) go to some New York college, so that would leave Finn... Possibly taking over Burt's auto shop? Did he look like he actually liked the sound of that? Okay, whatever.

Lastly, there was my least favorite storyline of the episode, with Quinn, Puck, Shelby and the baby drama. I have no idea what Quinn is thinking. She's finally lost it. She is such a mean, scheming, extremely short-term thinking girl. What will taking Beth, her daughter, back from Shelby solve?! Puck I like a little better, but this episode has shown him to be a really enigmatic character. He still has that pool cleaning business from the first season, though since he has a baby, the cougars are less interested in him. He seems to truely care about Beth and wants to be a good father, though it creeps me out how close he ends up getting to Shelby. Eww!

So yeah, you can see that this episode, for me at least, was quite full of okay, whatever moments. Not my favorite episode this season. Still, I'm glad things wrapped up the way they did. Finn apologized to Brittany, Sue slinks off to fight another day, and Rory joins New Directions to partially fill the void left by Mercedes, Santanna and Brittany, who all joined and conquered Shelby and Sugar Motta's club and became the Trouble Tones. (I actually felt sorry for poor Sugar. 0,o)

Now we have next week to look forward to... And boy, I'm nervous about this episode! Titled "The First Time", the sneak peek prominently featured Finchel and Klaine talking about taking the next step in their respective relationships... I am counting on you, Glee. Please don't mess this up next Tuesday.

Coming up: Ep. 4~The songs.

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Ep. 3~The best lines, IMO

This is probably going to be my last post for a while, since there won't be any new episodes until November. So sad... but enjoy these quotes from last week's stellar episode, Asian F.
Coach Beiste (I'm really liking her this season. She's spouting out almost as many hilarious lines as Brittany!)
Coach Beiste: Alright, listen up ladies. Number one, I kicked a fire hydrant when I heard Asa Kicks was canceled, hence, the crutches. Number two, the entire wrestling team has come down with a flesh-eating stack infection, so fellas, wash yourselves. That includes your bat-cave and your bramble-patches. (Number two is hard to hear because Mike is on camera)

Azimio: Coach, no disrespect but, my daddy ain't raised me to be no damn ballerina. In fact, my daddy didn't even raise me!
Coach Beiste: Ballet improves your coordination, it boosts your IQ, and it gets half of the NFL on Dancing with the Stars, boo-yah!

(Trying to decide between Rachel or Mercedes for Maria)
Coach Beiste: Harvard/Yale, 1968, Bush/Gore, 2000, and now...

Coach Beiste: It's one of the hardest decisions of my life, and that includes when I had to sell one of my prize donkeys to pay my gas bill. I sold Kim, but I kept Chloe.

Funny one-liners
Tina: Excuse me from gym all year, or I'll drain your spicy curry blood! *hiss!*

Kurt: We have two days left for people to announce their candidacy, that leaves me and Brittany running in this race, which is more like me running and, you know, Brittany is whimsically hopping and skipping nearby. No one takes her seriously.

(In response to Rachel saying she'd vote for Kurt)
Brittany: Oh, so you're cool with washing McKinley High's future down the magical poop-stealing water chair?

Artie: The kid's never late, he runs like an expensive Swiss watch cheaply reproduced in China.

Will: I'm sorry, I don't mean to be rude, but has anyone ever told you that you're both a little racist?

Other funny lines
Will: If you're serious about you and me, why haven't I met your parents?
Emma: Because we... um, they're dead.
Will: You spoke to them on the phone last night.
Emma: I spoke to their ghosts last night, I have ghost parents.

(After Kurt gives Blaine a bunch of flowers. Awwwww! ^_^)
Kurt: You killed your audition, Blaine. If anyone else got the role of Tony, including me, the wrath of Sondheim would fall upon William McKinley like a plague of Schubert Alley locusts. These are to celebrate... you.
Blaine: You always zig when I think you're about to zag, and I, I just... I love that about you.

Puck: Screw West Side Story, this is Clash of the Titans!
Kurt: I have a feeling that people are going to be talking about this face-off for the rest of our lives.

Emma: My parents are ginger supremacists.
Mr. Pillsbury: We're not ginger supremacists, we're more ginger preservationists.
Mrs. Pillsbury: We don't hate anybody, we just prefer the company of other red-heads.

Mrs. Pillsbury: Oops, looks like freaky-deaky's coming down with a mean case of the cleanys.
Mr. Pillsbury: And don't bother trying to stop her once she starts, Will. We used to tie her thumbs together, and she'd chew right through the twine. Adorable.

Coming up (way in the future): Ep. 4~Pot O' Gold

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Ep. 2~The best lines, IMO

Brittany S. Pears
Brittany: Out of all the kids in this school, I think you're the biggest unicorn.
Kurt: I'm sorry?
Brittany: Well, when a pony does a good deed, he gets a horn and becomes a unicorn, and he poops out cotton candy until he forgets he's magical, and then his horn falls off. And black unicorns, they become zebras.
Kurt: Well... that's a terrifying story.

Teacher: What's the capitol of Ohio? Brittany?
Brittany: O.
Teacher: What? Do you even know who the president is?
Brittany: Will.i.am.
(Entire class laughs.)

Kurt: I really don't know what to say.
Brittany: It happens to me all the time. My lips move, but only dust comes out.

Kurt: I think I might as well have a big neon sign on my head that says "Gay-diddy gay gay gay gay gay!"
Brittany: Might be a long, eccentric word, but I love it.
Kurt: I'm joking.
Brittany: Well, next time you make a joke, nudge me in the ribs or honk a horn or something.

Sue Sylvester
Sue: Will Schuester never did appreciate the gentle, tremble of your thin, forgettable alto.
Quinn: Thanks.

Will: Do you eat a whole chicken every day?
Beiste: I eat a whole chicken at every meal!
Sue: Well, hello She-Hulk, Weepy the vest clown.
Will: Good one.
Sue: And little Ms. Golden Marmoset. It's a Brazilian monkey, and seriously, it's your spitting image. You know what, I'm going to send you a photo. Are you still at freakish bony ginger at gmail dot com?

Sue: Well, I just got a text from Becky, replete with hilarious auto-corrects.

Funny one-liners
Beiste: In college I was in "A funny thing happened on the way to the forum." I was the forum.

Figgins: Mrs. Denny-Brown! Mr. Motta has just ended our toilet-paper shortage with to this enormous check! Wipe away!

Quinn: I don't have time for this. Gotta meet the Skanks up on the roof. Gonna throw ketchup covered tampons at the marching band.

Puck: I even did some homework. Turns out Napolean? Not just a desert, he was a real dude!

Artie: Thanks Coach. (To Emma) She's like my own private Jim Henson.

Beiste: I want a Tony that excites my lady-parts. Hummel's... too much of a lady.

(To Blaine's performance.)
Artie: I so want to give you a standing ovation right now!

Other funny lines
Will: As you all know, Vocal Adrenaline came in 2nd at Nationals last year.
Finn: Yeah, the only good thing to come out of that lost weekend.
(Nudge from Rachel)
Finn: I mean, besides us getting back together.

(Schuester lists people who need Booty Camp, including Kurt)
Kurt: I must protest!
Mike: You can't have one move, Kurt. It's like this sashay, and it's super distracting.
Will: Jones.
Mercedes: What?! Hell to the nizzy no!

Kurt: I wanted something toned down!
Santanna: This is toned down. In the original, the unicorn was riding you.

Ep. 2~The songs

I was a little sad that there were only 3 songs in this entire episode, but then again, that makes reviewing them much easier, and makes for a short post.

This was a pretty good duet. It was interesting to see this "mother-daughter" team belt out this song together. Lea Michelle and Idina Menzel are so completely similar, in looks and in talent. It wasn't my favorite song though. Not very surprising, since Rachel had to go up against my two favorite people on this show... ^_~

"I'm the Greatest Star"
My goodness, I completely bow down to you, Chris Colfer. You are the greatest star! What with the climbing all over that metal bar structure like a monkey and singing a frigging Barbara Streisand song!!! I have always thought that Rachel reminded me of strongly of Streisand, but I could barely believe how superbly Kurt pulls off a Barbara voice! He was just so charming and witty. (Did anyone else crack up when he says "stick around for the jokes"? LOL!) And of course, the grand finale in the very end, I could never have predicted how awesome that would be!

For those unaware, Chris Colfer can spin sai swords like a ninja pro. Here is the proof:
You can appreciate the thrill I experienced, the first time seeing the episode, when I suddenly saw Kurt pick up a couple of sais and twirl them while continuing to sing at the same time! It made the performance so much more epic! If I was still grading performances, I would absolutely give Chris an A with infinity pluses! Until something else comes to knock it off it's pedestal, this is my all time favorite Kurt song.

"Something's Coming"
Blaine was also utterly fantastic with his audition song. I mean, a number straight from West Side Story. I don't know how he didn't expect to get the part of Tony, since he was singing as Tony. Even if he wasn't singing this song, though, I'm sure he'd still have gotten the role. I mean, look at him! Darren Criss is adorable! He will be the perfect Tony.

Ep. 2~I Am Unicorn

Alright, I'm going to do it and review this episode before I delay it another day. I re-watched it the other day to help with writing my favorite quotes, so it's a little bit fresh in my head...

This started off a little strangely, with Brittany offering to help with Kurt's campaign for class president, which was nice of her, only she calls him a unicorn (a weird compliment, to be sure) and wants everyone else to know it with his posters. Kurt is initially afraid that this will portray him as much too gay, but in the end he uses a toned down version of Brit's poster that uses the pink, rainbow unicorn theme. Of course, it turns out Brittany's going to run against him for president now... I don't know whether Kurt should be concerned or not. I mean, this is Brittany we're talking about... O,o

So that's the unicorn part out of the way. Mr. Schue, keeping with his new make it or break it attitude, starts a thing called Booty camp to amp up certain people's dancing abilities. Also, Rachel's biological mother, Shelby, is back at McKinley, because Sugar Motta's (remember, terrible singing Asberger girl?) dad bribed the principal to start a new glee club with Sugar as the star, and they needed the best glee director. Since I never saw the end of Season 1, I'm not too familiar with Rachel's mom, but I know she adopted the baby that Quinn had. She seems like a good character. Of course, she's competing with New Directions, so it's hard to get friendly with her.

While she was there, Shelby offered Quinn and Puck the chance to be a part of the baby, Beth's, life, since they are the real parents. Quinn tries to act neutral, but you can tell she wants to see her daughter again. I was a bit surprised how sensitive Puck was in this episode, but I liked it (and Beth was so cute!). I remember how he started out in the beginning of the series, a total bad-boy football bully, but now he's really evolved into a character I actually like. Of course, I still don't like Quinn at all, but I at least feel sorry for her.

In addition, auditions for the school play, West Side Story (yay!) get under-way, directed by the unlikeliest trio, Emma Pillsbury, Coach Bieste, and Artie. Though unexpected, I think they will do a decent job. Funny enough, all the songs that were performed this episode were specifically for auditions. I'll get to each one later, but they were all great, Rachel, Kurt and Blaine. Kurt in particular. He really wants to get the role of male lead, Tony, but sadly, none of the directors think he's manly enough for the part, so what does he do? He tries to re-audition, with Rachel's assistance, using a scene from Romeo and Juliet... wearing tights. Nice try, but I don't think that will help your cause, Kurt.

In the end, we close with a brilliant audition from Blaine, who is so sweet. He kind of wants to play Tony, but he wants Kurt to get it more, so he tries out for a minor character. Of course, he does so well that the directors ask him to read for Tony, so what can he say? I think he will make a fantastic job with the role. If only Glee would let me know when the West Side Story episode will air...

I'm sorry if this review feels kind of rushed. I hereby promise never to delay reviewing an episode of Glee again. Which kind of makes my job easy, seeing as I'll have a couple of weeks off... Yes, it is so sad that we have to wait until November 1st for the next new episode. =( Why Glee?! Why? You come back on, and then you make us all wait again! >,< Ah, never mind. You're still an awesome show.

Coming up: Ep. 2~The songs.

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Ep. 3~The songs

Wow, Mercedes completely blew me away with her first solo of the season. Phenomenal. She sang that song with lots of attitude and power, the kind that gives me chills and makes Rachel Berry quake in her boots, because honestly, Mercedes has got big talent! She has always been one of my favorite singers, someone I always look forward to performing, because she rarely ever disappoints. Brava. (I think I'll stop with the grading system. Just giving my straight opinion is enough for me.)

"Run the World (Girls)"
This was really kind of a random song from Brittany that I'm really not sure why had to be done. It didn't move the plot forward at all and was just very loud. On the plus side, however, the dancing cheerleaders weren't that bad. =P

Mike Chang sings! And he was surprisingly awesome! Such a perfect song for him! I remember when he sang "Sing" slightly off, back in Season 2, and with the performance he gave tonight, acting and singing, he really showed how he has evolved since then. Also, the dance moves with the football players were amazing!

"It's All Over"
This was a very interesting scene, with a whole performance apparently happening all in Mercedes' head, with her and the whole cast. I like the cast numbers a whole lot, and liked that most everyone got a little solo part, but she was kind of the focus. Very well done.

"Out Here On My Own"
Duets on Glee are awesome, especially if it's 2 of my favorite female singers. They were both so fabulous with this song, you hardly know which one of them to root for. On the one hand, Rachel really wants to get the lead role in the play, so it will get her good credits, which will help her get into that New York college she and Kurt want to get into. On the other hand, Mercedes is, understandably, tired of being second best and wants to take charge in her senior year. The editing, going back and forth between Mercedes' and Rachel's auditions, were spot on, and it was just a great scene.

"Fix You"
This started off a bit shaky, I'll admit. I don't really like Will's singing all that much, but I was glad when the whole cast joined in, and when the scene focused on people reading the call-back sheet, so I didn't notice the song all that much. Long story short, I would deem this song forgettable. Not the worst performance ever, but forgettable.

Coming up: Ep. 2~I Am Unicorn.

Ep. 3~Asian F

It seems I have certainly failed this week, in that I never got to post my reviews for the 2nd Glee episode and it's songs. I have been extremely busy, and now a week later I find I have to review #3! Madness! But here is my solution: I'm going to review this episode + the songs right now, before I forget or get distracted, and tomorrow, since I'm going to re-watch episode #2 anyway, for it's best lines, I'll be able to review it properly, since it will be fresh in my mind. Please forgive me for backsliding on my promise to bring you glee reviews, and giving them to you slightly out of order. >,<

Anyway, back to our scheduled post.

What a fascinating episode this was! I liked how we got a little focus on characters that haven't had a lot of the spotlight lately, like Mercedes and Schuester, and even a character who hasn't really had the spotlight before. I'm talking about Mike Chang.

I loved getting to know him a little better as a person, meeting his parents, finding out about his dreams. Of course, getting an A- in chemistry and calling it an "Asian F" is a little harsh and nonsensical, but it demonstrates what a tough guy Mike's dad is, how much pressure he's putting on his son. Mike didn't get one of those inner dialogues like some characters get, to narrate what he's thinking, but that was totally fine, because you could tell what he was thinking. All he wants to do is dance. Plus there are the warring parts of his brain, personified: his dad wanting him to give up his dream and fulfill his family's expectations and plans, and Tina encouraging him to keep dancing, because it's his passion, and it's why she fell in love with him. Brilliant acting job, Harry Shum Jr. (Not to mention his singing, but I'll get to that later...) Also, the part where he talks with his mom. Just aww. ^,^

Mercedes also had an awesome character arc here, thanks to her boyfriend pushing her to triumph over Rachel. (I'm not sure if I caught it right, but is his name Shane or something? *quick wiki search* Yeah, it's Shane.) She showed a lot more confidence and drive, and that made her sing awesomely! My god, I've missed her voice, and here she goes and does 3 songs in one episode! But... She did act a little like a selfish diva, which has happened in the past, and is getting a little old. Rachel isn't completely blameless, just assuming she'll get the part of Maria in West Side Story (which I can't wait to see performed!). But I never predicted that Mercedes would just walk away from New Directions like she did! That was what was great about this episode. It surprised you a little

I liked the Will + Emma storyline okay. Meeting Emma's parents was a little weird, though. I mean, really? These were the people who raised her, these ginger obsessed people who only seem to care about keeping red hair in the family bloodline? That is just too strange. O,o

I loved all the other characters minor plots and lines. While they don't get a lot of focus in the episode, you do see stuff happening. Like Kurt, who is still campaigning for class president, but Brittany is giving him some stiff competition. I also adored Kurt and Blaine's little moment on the staircase, with the flowers. ^_^ I've been reading a few fan-fics on Klaine recently, and a scene like this wouldn't have been out of place in the stories I read. As another example, Finn has got to decide what he wants to do with his future, and soon. Also, Coach Beiste rules with her one-liners! Lol.

It's interesting how Will is trying to push everyone to be better than they've ever been before, so they can win Nationals. It's almost like a metaphor for how Glee is pushing itself this season to be the best. I don't want to play favorites early on in the game, but as I'm sure most people will say, this was simply all around a brilliant episode, possibly the best I've ever seen, in the entire series. Just in terms of story and character development, not to mention the performances. Which I will get to, in the very next post!

Coming up: Ep. 3~The Songs.

Monday, September 26, 2011

Ep. 1~The best lines, IMO

Sorry I'm late with the review for episode 2, but I figured before I wrote it up, I'd watch #1 again and give you some of my favorite lines from my favorite characters. (I could only do it now, because Hulu lets you see the episode 8 days after it's aired.)

Brittany S. Pears
Jacob: Brittany, what are your plans for the future?
Brittany: Wait... are you working on a time machine too?

Tina: Why are all our trophies in the middle of the room?
Brittany: I was sure our trophy would grow during the summer.

Santanna: We joined the Cheerios together, we joined glee club together, we slept with Puckerman the same year, we’re like besties for life.
Brittany: Yeah, come on, Quinn. You know, we used to be like the 3 Musketeers. Now Santanna and I are like Almond Joy and you’re a Jolly Rancher that fell in the ash tray.

Brittany: I found pepperoni in my bra.
Santanna: Those are your nipples.

Kurt Hummel
(To losing Nationals)
Kurt: Mercedes has a point. Finn and Rachel’s “the kiss that missed” already has 20,000 views on Youtube and the comment section is just full of pith banter, like, “why is the T-rex eating the jew?”

Rachel: We have an important announcement to make.
Emma: I thought this day might come. Really, this is the only dating combination that the glee club hasn’t tried.
Kurt: We’re not dating!
(Emma hands flier saying ME and my HAG)

Emma: Juliard doesn’t have a musical theater department.
Kurt: (Smiles with vacant expression) … Wait, what?

Kurt: You promised by the first day of school you’d make a decision, and yet, there you sit. Cute as ever, but still in your Warblers blazer.

Kurt: If you stay at Dalton, you and I are competitors.
Blaine: That’s true.
Kurt: And I’m just not sure that our budding love can survive that.
Blaine: Let me get this straight. I have to transfer, because you’re just afraid that I’m gonna beat you at Sectionals.
Kurt: No, I’m afraid I’m gonna beat you, (Blaine: Ooooh!) and I know what that does to you, when I win. Look, honestly, I just want to see you more. I want my senior year to be magic, and the only way that’s going to happen is to spend every minute of every day, with you.
(Kurt+Blaine hold hands. Awwww.)

Kurt: Shouldn’t you be at Warbler practise, putting the finishing touches on another Katy Perry show-stopper?

Sue Sylvester
(Seeing her poll numbers were low)
Sue: I thought the people wanted a candidate who for something. That’s why I took that pro-deportation stance. But the people are angry. They want a candiate who’s against something.
Becky: What about toast? It’s already been baked. I don’t get why you need to cook it again.

(After Mike and Tina were playing Chopsticks on the piano and Sue wreaks it)
Sue: Oh, I’m sorry, I just realized that song might be the national anthem from whatever country you’re from.
Mike: That’s really offensive.

Sue: I have spent the entire year being nothing but kind to you people!
Tina: Today’s only the second day of school.

Sue: Ladies, I put plastic on your chairs in anticipation of this announcement, so feel free to wet yourselves with excitement.

Other funny lines
Jacob: I thought you were a senior.
Artie: Optical illusion. The chair adds a year.

Jacob: Twitter says you’re officially dating Sam Evans, aka, Trouty mouth, aka, Hobo McBieber.
Mercedes: Honey, that is so June.

(Breaking up with Puck)
Lauren: Aw, don’t be sad. We’ll always have Subway.
Puck: She’s the one that got away. Really really slowly.

Artie: Her ears should get to park in my handicapped spot.
Will: Holy shhhh... Sugar!

Harmony: I know you totally recognize me. It’s ‘cause I’m the Gerber baby. I’ve been acting since I was a fetus, literally. An ultra-sound of me was featured on “Murder She Wrote.”
Gay 1: I was in an all-male cast of Grease!
Gay 2: As my future husband, Robert Pattinson, always says, “It’s refreshing to have new blood.”

Coming up: Ep. 3~Asian F.

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Ep. 1~The songs

"We Got the Beat": What a fantastic toe-tapper for the first song! I loved the excitement and energy as well as the dancing on the lunch tables. I didn't get why ALL the other students looked so bored or wary. Couldn't have a few people at least shown some interest? I mean Rachel, Britanny And Santanna all rocked! I don't know about you, but I never saw the food fight scene coming. What a shock! Poor Kurt had to duck and use his lunch tray to shield himself. It was so funny to watch, but horribly embarrassing for the glee kids to endure. Don't worry, New Directions. I give this song an A, for your bold effort.

"Big Spender": This was the song that Sugar sang to audition. I already gave my opinion on her performance. It stank. But the reactions from the other characters were pretty funny. Also, I don't even know the song, so that lowers her grade even further. In the end, because she sang so bad, I give her an F.

"Ding-Dong! The Witch Is Dead": I loved how beautifully Kurt and Rachel sang this duet together. They are absolutely my favorite singers (aside from Mercedes), and it was such a cheerful number. It's a shame they were singing to no one, though... Unless you count the backup musicians. =P Fun song, very well done. A

"It's Not Unusual": Oh, Darren Criss, naturally you blew me away with this song! I loved you covering Tom Jones. ^_^ Especially with all the cheerleaders dancing behind you. The only thing that turned me off was the fact that, on occasion, you sang the word "unusual" in an usual way. At times, it sounded like you were singing un-jews-ual, or something weird like that. O,o Don't believe me? Listen to the song on youtube. You'll hear what I mean. But no matter. You are still a winner talent and totally awesome! (A Very Potter Musical reference. ^_~) A++

"Anything Goes" / "Anything You Can Do": Now this mashup was so extremely well done, it was almost frightening. Only because the people performing it were so darn threatening. Rachel and Kurt went to some sort of college audition, but a bunch of Rachel lookalikes and gay guys needed someone to show off to, I guess. You could see the two McKinley students smiling politely, but in their eyes you could tell they were scared out of their wits of their competition. In fact, they were later reduced to tears in their car by this flawless performance. I liked how loud the song was, and how the red glaring lights tell the audience, "Yes, you should be scared of us! We eat amateurs like you for breakfast!" I liked one of the gay guy's lines before they started. "Like my future husband, Robert Pattinson, says, 'It's great having some fresh blood.'" Lol. A+

"You Can't Stop the Beat": Even though right before this starts, Santanna gets kicked out of the club, I'm glad the episode was able to wrap up with a catchy, feel good song. The slow beginning from Rachel gave it a unique spin, and then all the kids dancing and singing in purple shirts made it full of energy and satisfaction from a well-done episode. Thank you, Mercedes, as usual, for your awesome solos. I wish you could've sang one of those awesome high notes you do that give me chills, but still, it was fine. And the song attracted Quinn from the shadows, so hopefully she won't stay away from glee for too long.

There you have it. 7 great sings to kick the season off with a bang. I'm heartily looking forward to next week's episode and song list! Until then, Gleek out! (Yes, this is going to be my catch-phrase. Don't laugh. It's the title of my blog, after all.)

Coming up: Ep. 1~The best lines, IMO.

Ep. 1~The Purple Piano Project.

Welcome back to McKinley High, fellow gleeks! It looks like we're in for a wonderful year with New Directions.

I made it just in time from my Toastmasters meeting to miss only the first minute of the beginning, but I liked the interview style in which I learned what my favorite characters had been up to over the summer. It was just like catching up with old friends! (Mercedes has a boyfriend! You go, girl! I hope we get to see more of him.) Kurt and Rachel seem like really close friends, since they both intend to make it big in NYC when they graduate. They're so cool together. I loved Brittany's one-liners! She is the funniest! The writing was fantastic, and she gives such spot-on delivery.

It's sad that some people dropped out of glee club. Trouty-mouth Sam is gone, but they gave a good explanation for that (dad got out of state job). Puck's fat-bottomed girl, Lauren, left because she'd rather not be at the bottom of the high school food chain. Thanks, Zizes. And uh, Quinn? WTH?! What made you stop singing? More importantly, how do your parents let you live like that, all tattooed and nose-ringed and punk hair? (I like the pink hair, tho.) Poor Finn. He seems to have lost his direction as well...

Will and Emma are living and sleeping together?! Wow, that threw me for a loop. But they're a pretty cute couple together. Making each others' lunches. Awww. I just wish I'd gotten more of an explanation before-hand...

Jane Lynch as coach Sylvester is awesome. Sue is evil and in full-on villain mode, running for congress. Her dastardly mission? To get rid of arts programs in every school in the country. Ha, I'd love to see her try. Still, since it's Sue, I'm nervous for the glee kids and Mr. Schue.

I don't know about you, this is only my opinion, but every scene with Kurt and/or Blaine in it was pure gold. Chris Colfer is one of the main reasons I love to watch this show so much. As for Darren Criss... I have a major crush on him, so of course I'm going to be heavily biased and say that everything he does is brilliant, no matter what you say. Just thought you should know that for future posts. Anyway, I was really happy when Blaine transferred from Dalton to McKinley, just so he could be with Kurt. So romantic. The look on Kurt's face and the gleeful hug he gave him was well worth it. ^_^

I was surprised with Santanna's character. I thought for sure she would turn good, and stop working for evil coach Sylvester. I know in my gut that she's a much better person than that. Or at least I hope so. I don't think she had to get kicked out of the club. Will was a little harsh on that decision. But hey, maybe it will teach her a lesson in loyalty.

Speaking of which, I like how Will is much more firm and decisive. He'll do what it takes for the glee club to win, and not be as wishy-washy as he's been in the past. Which is why he didn't let the tone-deaf Asberger's syndrome girl, Sugar, join in New Directions. I mean it, she was horrible! Even worse than Mike Chang! >_< I'm glad she's not in the club. She's more stuck-up than Rachel used to be, and doesn't have a tenth of her talent. I doubt we've seen the last of her, though.

Btw, about the purple pianos... I didn't really get why they were needed. Sugar's dad apparently donated them and Mr. Schue decided to locate a few of them around the school so that if the kids saw them they had to break into song so they could attract new members. Besides that, they didn't have much to do with the plot, so I don't know why they had to out it in the episode title... But oh well. They looked really pretty. It's sad that by the end they were all pretty much ruined...

Enough of my ramblings about the plot. I want to talk about the songs now! Ah, but this post is already an awfully long one... I know, I'll put that in a separate post altogether!

Coming up: Ep. 1~ The songs.

Monday, September 19, 2011

Glee premieres tomorrow!

Finally, after so much waiting, one of my favorite shows ever comes back to television, TOMORROW!!! I am so excited, I could just burst with... Well, glee! ^_^

Since last September, I have been a pretty huge fan of Glee. The music, the characters, the story, I love it all.

I've done several reviews of certain episodes from season 2 on my regular blog, such as these:
Glee 2:8
Glee 2:10
Glee 2:11/ Glee 2:12
Glee 2:16
Glee 2:18
Glee 2:19
Glee 2:20

With this blog here, I intend to review every single episode from this new season every Wednesday, since the episodes air on Tuesday nights. I'm just warning you right now that I'll be giving my full opinion on each episode, so there will likely be plenty of spoiler material. If you're the type who doesn't like the surprise to be spoiled, don't read my reviews until after you've seen the episode yourself. If you're not that kind of person, well, be my guest!

I'm not sure how my posts will be structured yet, but I think there will be a summary of the plot, my reactions to certain characters and story lines, and how I rate each of the musical performances. I'm wondering whether I should implement some sort of grading or ratings system, so I know which episodes I liked best... Oh well. I'll decide that later. For now, I simply can't wait for tomorrow night! Yaaaaaaay!

I hope I get plenty of comments and opinions from fellow gleeks, so we can discuss the merits of each episode together. I'll be linking posts regularly to my Facebook, so maybe I'll see some of my friends around here. Hi there! Please, don't be shy! Follow me! Let's all gleek out together!

Bettina Levy

Coming up: Ep. 1~The Purple Piano Project.